At the undergraduate level, the Department offers B.A. majors in economics; business economics; economics and administrative studies; and economics, law and society. At the graduate level we offer a Ph.D. in economics. All of our programs provide students a comprehensive training in modern economic theory, empirical techniques and policy evaluations as well as opportunities to take courses in a wide range of areas of specialization.

The Department includes faculty experts in microeconomics, macroeconomics, econometrics, economic development, international economics, labor economics, money, credit and business cycles, resource and environmental economics and public economics. Their research is in theory as well as applied to policy issues. For more information see Faculty Research.




We have made the following video to wish you all the best.


Ruoyao Shi awarded Hellman Fellowship

Assistant Professor Ruoyao Shi was awarded a Hellman Fellowship for the 2020-2021 academic year to study homeownership assistance programs. Professor Shi will work on developing and calibrating a dynamic choice model that features the constraints that households face when they make housing decisions. With the model calibrated by the data on households’ actual housing decisions, Professor Shi hopes to quantify the significance of various barriers between disadvantaged households and homeownership, and more importantly, to evaluate the efficacy and the cost effectiveness of popular homeownership assistance programs targeting disadvantaged households.

Assistant Professor Carolyn Sloane had her NBER research paper on pre-market human capital specialization and the college gender wage gap covered in the Wall Street Journal and CNBC:

Professor Emeritus Prasanta Pattanaik has been honored with one of India’s highest civilian Awards – the Padma Shri award (https://pib.gov.in/newsite/PrintRelease.aspx?relid=197647). This award honors individuals who have distinguished themselves in various disciplines such as social work, public affairs, academic research, science, arts, civil service, among others, and who have made a profound contribution to social progress and to society.  The award will be conferred by the President of India at the ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan around March/April 2020.

Hiroki Nishimura Awarded NSF Grant

Assistant Professor Hiroki Nishimura was awarded a three year National Science Foundation grant to study “Preference Structures”. Professor Nishimura will work on developing an alternative model for describing individual preferences. By going beyond the classical approach to preference relations, Professor Nishimura hopes to narrow the gap between decision theory and behavior economics and offer useful methods in a wide variety of practical contexts and applications.

Distinguished Professor Aman Ullah received the UC Riverside Faculty Research Lecturer Award for the 2018-2019 academic year.  From its inception well over half a century ago, the Faculty Research Lecturer Award has been the highest honor that the UCR Academic Senate bestows. This award recognizes Professor Ullah’s international acclaim for his fundamental research in several areas of econometrics over the past five decades.

Emeritus Professor David Fairris has been named UCR’s 2018-19 Edward A. Dickson Emeritus Professor. This award also provides financial support for his research project “Economic Policy When Society Holds Non-Consequentialist Views of the Good: The Case of the Minimum Wage.”  This academic senate award is presented yearly to an Emeritus Faculty on the basis of a compelling project in teaching, research, or public service activities.